1190618.jpg

Difference between Chlorella and Spirulina

Mankind has put forward the slogan of demanding food and medicine from microalgae in the 21st century. For this reason, microalgae is recognized as the most ideal health food in the 21st century. The most important reason why people pay more and more attention to microalgae is that they are rich in natural functional ingredients. Dr. TGRandolph of the United States said: “Although synthetic products and natural substances have the same chemical structure, they can never replace natural substances, and even get the opposite effect.” The physiologically active substances of microalgae are used in the development of health products, medicines, and functional foods. Playing an extremely important role.

In addition to chlorella (green algae), there are also spirulina (cyanobacteria) that are consumed in large quantities by humans. At present, the edible microalgae products sold in large quantities on the market are mainly Chlorella in the world and Spirulina in China.

Characteristics of Spirulina

Spirulina is a multicellular organism. Although it is a microalgae, it can be seen by the naked eye. Spirulina grows in freshwater ponds, rivers and even oceans with high alkalinity. Through observation, Spirulina can be subdivided into many types of algae, each of which has its own characteristics. Spirulina will mutate during the growth process, that is to say, it will mutate from one algae type gene to another algae type; even some algae types have toxins. That is why spirulina is easy to cultivate, but difficult to purify and ensure its edible safety. Since 1985, Chinese biological experts discovered naturally-growing spirulina (cyanobacteria) in Chenghai Lake in Yunnan. Since then, extensive outdoor aquaculture has begun in many parts of China, which has led to rapid development and utilization of spirulina. But what is not optimistic is that due to improper management, water quality in some areas has deteriorated and cyanobacteria flooded.

Characteristics of Chlorella

Chlorella is a single-celled organism with a spherical shape of 3 to 8 microns and cannot be seen with the naked eye. Chlorella must grow in a freshwater environment that is fully exposed to sunlight. In the early days, there were two major difficulties in the cultivation of chlorella: on the one hand, the problem of algae species, whether the cultivated algae species was a high-quality species - Pyrenoidosa, was difficult to identify at the time; on the other hand, there was no good technology to break the cell wall of chlorella. The outer layer of chlorella is very tough due to the three layers of cell walls. Without breaking the wall, its internal nutrients are difficult to digest and absorb. It was not until Japan's Sun Chlorella Corp. developed the patented DYNO®-Mill wall-breaking technology and preserved Chlorella Pyrenoidosa as a breeding mother species, and the high-quality chlorella with a wall-breaking rate of more than 90% was officially launched. Due to the use of pure mountain spring water for cultivation, Sun Chlorella is also known as the cleanest chlorella*.

*Killing Cancer - Not People by Robert G. Wright

Chlorella and Spirulina

Both Chlorella and Spirulina are classified as super foods, and they are both one of the richest sources of nutrients on the planet. The investment in chlorella cultivation equipment is large and the cultivation environment is demanding. It can only be cultivated in fresh water. The chance of contamination is low, and technical support such as wall-breaking treatment techniques is required. However, spirulina does not have too many environmental restrictions due to cultivation, and it can be cultivated in fresh water or salt water. The species is more complicated and the production cost is relatively low. Both Chlorella and Spirulina are rich in protein and carotene, which can prevent serious diseases. The content of vitamins and minerals in chlorella is not much different from spirulina; the content of protein in chlorella is slightly lower than that in spirulina. However, some functional components in Chlorella, such as biotin, chlorophyll, folic acid, etc., are much higher than spirulina. The chlorophyll content in Chlorella is 5 times that of Spirulina, which can be said to be the king of green in nature! Chlorella has a tough cell wall protective layer, while the outer layer of spirulina silk is the cell membrane. The broken cell wall of Chlorella is a good dietary fiber. The German medical community found that the cell membrane of Chlorella contains special substances called "Sporopollein", but they only exist in the Chlorella Pyrenoidosa species. This special substance is extremely important to get rid of heavy metals and chronic disease-causing substances in the body! Chlorella contains natural biotin, but it is not detected in Spirulina. The role of biotin has been paid more and more attention by medicine and nutrition. Biotin participates in the metabolism of carbohydrates, proteins and fats. It has the functions of preventing gray hair, hair loss, relieving muscle pain, reducing eczema, dermatitis and other symptoms.

 

In recent years, scientists have discovered a special functional substance that Spirulina does not possess-Chlorella Growth Factor (C.G.F.) when studying chlorella. CGF is an active substance with a biological response modification effect. Its physiological function can activate human cell function, activate lymphocytes, enhance delayed hypersensitivity caused by DNFB, enhance the phagocytic function of monocytes and macrophages, and enhance the body's Immune function, resist the invasion of foreign diseases; promote the repair of injured tissues of the human body, reduce the poisoning effect of organic matter, heavy metals, etc. It can also improve gastric ulcer, high blood pressure and cardiovascular diseases. CGF can promote the rapid reproduction of bifidobacteria and lactobacilli in the human intestine, and has the effect of regulating the flora in the intestine. In terms of preventing chronic diseases, Agaricus blazei with CGF was used to feed mice injected with chronic disease cells, showing a strong ability to prevent chronic diseases. CGF stimulates macrophages and tumor necrosis factor (TNF): CGF is a safe and effective tumor radiotherapy adjuvant drug, which can reduce radiation damage and protect immunity and bone marrow function, and can reduce the radiation operation of bone marrow cells and immune function of the body , And can indirectly restrain the proliferation of cells.

The content of chlorophyll in Chlorella is 2000-7000 mg, much higher than the 800-1200 mg of Spirulina. Natural chlorophyll is known as a scavenger of harmful substances in the kidneys, lungs and blood.

There are active and inactive vitamin B12. B12 usually derived from meat, milk, eggs and fish foods are all active and physiologically functional B12 vitamins. Studies have shown that Japan Sun Chlorella contains active B12 vitamins with physiological functions. Therefore, chlorella is an ideal source of vitamin B12 for vegetarians. The vitamin B12 found in Spirulina is inactive and therefore does not have the function of active B12.

Resources:《養生保健的全營養素-小球藻》- Organized and compiled by the Science Education Branch of China Health Care Association, published and distributed by China Social Publishing House, our company is only for quotation and reference

小球藻與螺旋藻的分別

人類提出了 21 世紀向微藻要食品、要藥物的口號。為此,微藻被公認為是 21 世紀最理想的健康食品。人們之所以越來越重視微藻,最重要的一點是其富含天然的功能成分。美國 TGRandolph 博士說:“雖然合成品與天然物質具有相同的化學結構,但永遠不能取代天然物,甚至會得到相反的效果。”微藻的生理活性物質在開發保健品、藥物、功能食品等方面佔有極其重要的地位。

被人類大量食用的藻類,除了小球藻(綠藻)外還有螺旋藻(藍藻)。目前在市場上大量銷售的食用微藻產品,在國際上主要是小球藻,在中國主要是螺旋藻。

螺旋藻的特點

螺旋藻是多細胞生物,雖是微藻類,但它卻是肉眼也能看到的生物。螺旋藻在含有較高鹼度的淡水池塘,河流甚至海洋中成長。通過觀察,螺旋藻可以細分為很多藻型,每一種藻型都有其不同的特點。螺旋藻在生長過程中會產生變異,也就是說會從一種藻型基因變異成另一種藻型;甚至有一些藻型還會有毒素,這就是為什麼螺旋藻雖然很容易養殖,但很難提純而保證其食用安全性的原因了。自1985年中國的生物專家在雲南的程海湖中發現了天然生長的螺旋藻(藍藻),此後中國很多地方開始了粗放型的戶外養殖,使得對螺旋藻的開發及利用得到一個飛速的發展。但不容樂觀的是,由於管理不當已造成部分地區的水體質量惡化,藍藻氾濫。

小球藻的特點

小球藻是3~8微米球形的單細胞生物,肉眼不能看到。小球藻必須在充分暴露於陽光下的淡水環境生長。早期,小球藻養殖方面出現兩大困難:一方面是藻種的問題,養殖的藻種是不是Pyrenoidosa 這個優質品種,當時很難鑑定;另一方面是還不具備小球藻細胞的破壁技術。小球藻外層因有三層細胞壁包裹,十分堅韌,不經過破壁處理,其內在的營養成分是很難被消化吸收的。直至日本升康力太陽小球藻研發出專利 DYNO®-Mill 破壁技術及保存 Chlorella Pyrenoidosa 作培殖母體後,破壁率超過 90%的優質小球藻才正式面世。由於使用純淨的山泉水培植,升康力小球藻亦被譽為最清潔的小球藻*。

*Killing Cancer - Not People by Robert G. Wright

小球藻與螺旋藻

小球藻和螺旋藻都被列為超級食物,它們都是地球上最豐富的營養來源之一。 小球藻的養殖設備投入大,養殖環境要求高,只可淡水養殖,受污染機會較低,需要破壁處理工藝等技術支持。而螺旋藻因養殖並沒有太大的環境限制,可淡水或鹹水養殖,品種較復雜,生產成本價格相對較低廉。小球藻與螺旋藻二者均含有豐富的蛋白質及可預防頑疾的胡蘿蔔素。小球藻中的維生素、礦物質含量與螺旋藻差別不大;小球藻中蛋白質的含量略低於螺旋藻。但是小球藻中的某些功能成分,如生物素、葉綠素、葉酸等,遠比螺旋藻含量高。小球藻中的葉綠素含量是螺旋藻的5倍,可以說是自然界中的綠色之王!小球藻有堅韌的細胞壁保護層,而螺旋藻絲體外層是細胞膜。小球藻破碎後的細胞壁是很好的膳食纖維。德國醫學界發現小球藻中的細胞膜中含有 “Sporopollein” 的特殊物質,但只存在於 Chlorella Pyrenoidosa 品種之內。此特殊物質對排除體內重金屬及致頑疾物質極為重要!小球藻中含有天然的生物素,而螺旋藻中未檢出。生物素的作用越來越被醫學和營養學所重視。生物素參與碳水化合物、蛋白質和脂肪的代謝。具有防止白髮、脫髮、緩解肌肉疼痛、減輕濕疹、皮炎症狀等功能。

 

近年來科學家在研究小球藻時發現了螺旋藻所不具備的特殊功能物質—小球藻活性生物生長因子(C.G.F.)C.G.F.是具有生物反應修飾作用的活性物質,其生理功能具有活化人體細胞功能,激活淋巴細胞,增強DNFB引發的遲發性超敏反應,增強單核一巨噬細胞吞噬功能的作用,增強機體的免疫功能,抵抗外來疾病的入侵;促進人體受傷組織修復,減少或減輕因有機物、重金屬等的中毒作用:還能改善胃潰瘍、高血壓和心血管等疾病。CGF能促進人體腸道中雙歧桿菌和乳酸桿菌迅速繁殖,具有調節腸道內菌叢的作用。在防頑疾方面姬松茸用CGF餵養被注射頑疾細胞的老鼠,顯示出很強的防頑疾能力。CGF刺激巨噬細胞和腫瘤壞死因子(TNF)CGF是安全而有效的腫瘤放療輔助用藥,可起到減少輻射損害及免疫和骨髓功能的保護能力,能減輕骨髓細胞和機體免疫功能的輻射操作,並能間接地扣制細胞的增殖擴散。

小球藻中葉綠素的含量為2000~7000毫克,遠高於螺旋藻的800~1200毫克。天然葉綠素被譽為是腎肺血液中有害物質的清道夫。

維生素 B12 分別有活性型與非活性型,通常來自於肉類、 奶、蛋和魚類食物的 B12 都是活性、有生理功能的 B12 維生素。經研究顯示,升康力小球藻含活性帶生理功能的 B12 維生素。因此,小球藻是素食者理想的維生素 B12來源。而於螺旋藻內找到的維生素 B12則為非活性型,因此並沒有活性B12 的功能。

资料来源:《养生保健的全营养素-小球藻》- 中国保健协会科普教育分会组织编写,中国社会出版社出版发行


TISCO (HK) LTD.

得康(香港)有限公司 

Copyright ©2020 by Tisco (HK) Ltd. All Rights Reserved.